ACHIL - Aeronautical Computer Human Interaction

Plateforme ACHIL

Transverse Program - Aeronautical Computer Interaction Lab (ACHIL)

The work in the program is a topic on which the ENAC has a long established experience and legitimacy. In addition, ENAC hosts an aeronautical population familiar with the specific problems of the trades concerned (piloting or air traffic control).

 Currently, ENAC, through the Interactive Critical Systems Engineering team ///, has built in-depth and theoretical knowledge in HMI. The objective of this program is to benefit from this work and to apply it to the field of aeronautics. This work will focus on the problems of automation, the collaboration of the human operator or with other operators (eg air/ ground communication), or with advanced algorithms requiring specific tools and reflection around the sharing and distribution of roles and responsibilities. Also is to be explored the timely management of the activity, and the support needed for the time-planning and the management of interruptions.

 Finally, the use of advanced interactions, such as tactile, bi-manual or multi-touch, and advanced visualization (animations, graphical representations) constitute an axis of exploration to propose innovative and efficient HMIs. More generally, applied research will focus on solving the transition problem inherent to tool changes and in embarking change management for operators right from the design stage. To this end, the participatory approach will be at the heart of the working methods of this program.
The axes of reflection are mainly centered on the following three themes:

Human factors and training

Human performance in complex situations. Cognitive mechanisms, priority management, Situation-Awareness, real-time evaluation of cognitive load

  • Selection / training of operators, ageing, fatigue, stress
  • Design of specific tools for training in aeronautical jobs (pilots, Air traffic controllers
  • Stakes for the HMI: performance, degraded context, dynamic adaptation... 

As safety remains a central concern in aeronautics, the issue of man-machine system performance is a key issue. Thus, work has been carried out to understand and measure the performance of the human operator in critical situations characteristic of the aeronautical field.

The use of experimental controlled situations is therefore used, often in collaboration with the neurosurgery team of the ISAE neighbour school. Work on air traffic control has focused on low-level cognitive processes such as alarms detection or cognitive workload assessed by EEG, as well as interaction itself and its physical and sensory mechanisms through the study of their timeliness and efficiency. Studies of pilot student selection focused on higher-level cognitive processes such as learning in uncertain environments through behavioral and physiological variables (eye movements).

Further, these works falls within the wider perspective of cooperation between human operators and artificial agents.

From a decision-sharing perspective, work is aimed at exploring the ability of control interfaces to facilitate not only the human activity as it is today, but also to support the Mixed decision making in cohabitation with various automation (robots, decision aids, dynamic reconfigurations of the sectors ...). This work will explore the mechanisms of delegation and monitoring. The advances of robotics are, in this regard, a confirmation of the interest of this approach and the significant potential that emerges from it. This work is conducted in collaboration with the other ENAC laboratories for the algorithmic aspects, interaction or visualization. They also involve external partners (Airbus, NTU, ISAE ...)

Digital airport

The theme aims to federate various initiatives contributing to the improvement of the performance of the airports and their transition towards a more advanced level of security, resilience to unexpected degradation and overall optimization of their performance. Improvements will be directed at several angles  : the HMI for a start, as a lever for cooperation between the various airport actors, automation further, or the use of robots as tools for the activity of airport operators and digitization last, either for "virtualization" or to meet the increase in actors and work positions, and the interconnection of information systems.

Cockpit Aeronautics

The contribution to the dedicated cockpit work, such as the interest of tangibility in the cockpit, or the better understanding of the cognitive processes of the pilot or the instructor will allow to propose evolutions of the instruments of the cockpit, to better accompany the pilots in the accomplishment of their daily tasks, the management of their priorities, and to facilitate the detection of alarms, countermeasures against tunneling. All such prospects are designed to achieve the increase of the security sought. Accompanying the integration of aids and automation in the cockpit will also be part of the objectives sought.

The current development of a flying tesbed (dedicated to research in Human Factors and HMI aeronautics) will shorten the time of exploration and validation of advanced concepts in this field.

In this area of ​​the cockpit, special attention is given to the problem of training. This work includes projects such as the study of the learning of procedures with multimedia devices, the oculometric study of the visual circuits and their use in training or the evaluation of the cognitive workload by physiological measurements EEG and pupillary diameter).

The  ACHIL Platform - Aeronautical Computer Human Interaction Lab

A dedicated laboratory (ACHIL) serves as a platform for these activities. This platform dedicated to HMI will be set up, shared with partner laboratories or industry, in order to explore new aeronautical concepts and prototypes and to analyze working methods and their evolutions.

The ACHIL platform focuses on the analysis and design of operational systems (software, organizations) involving human operators (pilots, controllers, etc.).

The field of application of the ACHIL platform is Aeronautics both on the ground and on board. Thus, perfectly in line with ENAC's missions and strategy, our research questions and issues stem from the needs expressed by the aeronautical sector (institutions, programs, industry). The work on this platform is intended to transpose on the applied fields of piloting or air traffic control the knowledge resulting from the academic work of the research teams of the ENAC. They aim in particular at supporting the work of the different aeronautical operators, (pilots, air traffic controllers), the human factors aspects and training, as well as the design of HMI and digital tools for future ATC and avionics systems.

Moreover, the platform is a locus for the integration of transverse skills, such as those derived from algorithms, complexity measurement, telecommunications or economy. The objective is to create a place of integration and innovation that can take advantage of knowledge and technologies from different backgrounds.

Finally, a specific activity of prototyping is intended to support the training of aeronautical populations.. The objective is multiple: to understand the learning mechanisms and the circumstances that maximize their effectiveness, and then to decline concepts in the tools themselves intended for the training of the pilots and controllers.

 Simulations and user centered design will be widely used. Realism of the environment: the simulation tools used must allow the construction of a very realistic environment for operational experts (AMAN, TCAS, safety nets, aircraft models, etc.).

More information on HMI Research ENAC website ///

ENAC TV

Welcome to ENAC

Photo Gallery

loader

Follow-us

Back to top

ACHIL - Aeronautical Computer Human Interaction

Plateforme ACHIL

Programme transverse Aeronautical Computer Human Interaction Lab (ACHIL)

Le travail autour du programme est un sujet sur lequel l’ENAC dispose d’une compétence et d’une légitimité établies. De plus, l'ENAC dispose d’une population aéronautique au fait des problématiques spécifiques des métiers concernés (pilotage ou contrôle aérien).

Actuellement, l’ENAC dispose, via l'équipe de recherche Ingénierie des Systèmes Interactifs Critiques ///, de connaissances approfondies et théoriques en IHM. L’objectif de ce programme est de bénéficier de ces travaux et les décliner de façon appliquée au domaine de l’aéronautique. Ces travaux porteront notamment sur la problématique de l’automatisation, celui de la collaboration de l’opérateur humain soit avec d’autres opérateurs (par exemple le dialogue sol/bord), ou bien avec des algorithmes avancés nécessitant des outils spécifiques et la réflexion autour du partage des rôles et responsabilités. Sera également explorée la gestion de la temporalité de l’activité, et les besoins de support à la planification et à la gestion des interruptions.

Enfin, l’utilisation d’interactions avancées, comme le tactile, bi-manuel ou le multi-touch, et la visualisation avancée (animations, représentations graphiques) constituent un troisième axe d’exploration pour proposer des IHM innovantes et performantes. De façon générale, la recherche appliquée s’attachera à résoudre le problème de la transition inhérent au changement et à prévoir dès la conception l’accompagnement du changement pour les opérateurs. Dans ce but, la démarche participative sera au cœur de la réflexion.
Les axes de réflexion sont essentiellement centrés sur les trois thématiques suivantes :

Facteurs Humains et formation

Performance humaine en situation complexe Mécanismes cognitifs, gestion des priorités, Conscience de la Situation, évaluation temps réel de la charge cognitive :

  • Sélection/formation des opérateurs, viellissement, fatigue, stress
  • Conception d’outils spécifiques pour la formation aux métiers aéronautiques
  • Enjeux pour l’IHM : performance, contexte dégradé, adaptation dynamique…

La sécurité restant une préoccupation centrale en aéronautique, la question de la performance du système homme-machine est un sujet clé. Ainsi, des travaux ont été menés pour comprendre et mesurer la performance de l’opérateur humain dans les situations critiques caractéristiques du domaine aéronautique.

L’usage de situations expérimentales contrôlées est donc utilisé, souvent en collaboration avec l’équipe de neuroergonomie de l’ISAE. Des travaux sur le contrôle aérien ont porté sur des processus cognitifs de bas niveau comme la détection d'alarmes ou la charge cognitive évaluée par EEG, mais aussi l’interaction proprement dite et ses mécanismes physiques et sensoriels, à travers l’étude de leur temporalité et efficacité. Des études sur la sélection des élèves pilotes ont porté sur des processus cognitifs de plus haut niveau comme l’apprentissage en environnement incertain  à travers des variables comportementales et physiologiques (mouvements oculaires).

Par suite, ces travaux s’inscrivent dans la perspective plus large de la coopération entre opérateurs humains et agents artificiels.

Sous l’angle du partage de décision, des travaux visent à explorer la capacité d’interfaces de contrôle à faciliter non seulement l’activité de l’humain tel qu’il s’envisage aujourd’hui, mais également de soutenir la prise de décision mixte en cohabitation avec des automatismes divers (robotique, aides à la décision, reconfigurations dynamiques des secteurs...). Ces travaux exploreront notamment les mécanismes de délégation et surveillance associés. Les avancées de la robotique constituent, à cet égard, une confirmation de l’intérêt de cette démarche et le potentiel important qui s’en dégage. Ces travaux se conduisent en collaboration avec les laboratoires de l’ENAC pour les aspects algorithmiques, interaction ou visualisation. Ils impliquent également des partenaires extérieurs (Airbus, NTU, ISAE...)

Aéroport numérique

Le thème vise à fédérer diverses initiatives contribuant à l’amélioration de la performance des aéroports et leur transition vers un niveau plus abouti de sécurité, résilience aux aléas, et optimisation globale de la performance. Cette amélioration sera visée à travers plusieurs angles d’attaque : l’IHM pour commencer, comme levier de coopération entre les différents acteurs aéroportuaires, l’automatisation ou le recours à des robots comme outillage de l’activité des opérateurs d’aéroport, la numérisation ensuite, que ce soit pour la « virtualisation » ou par l’augmentation des postes de travail, et l’interconnexion des systèmes d’information.

Cockpit Aéronautique

La contribution aux travaux dédiés cockpit, comme l’apport de la tangibilité dans le cockpit, ou la meilleure compréhension des processus cognitifs du pilote ou de l’instructeur permettront de proposer des évolutions des instruments du cockpit, pour mieux accompagner les pilotes dans l’accomplissement de leurs tâches. Gestion des priorités, facilitation de la détection des alarmes, contre-mesures face à la tunnelisation sont autant de perspectives destinées à garantir l’augmentation de la sécurité recherchée. Accompagner l’intégration d’aides et d’automatismes dans le cockpit fera également partie des objectifs recherchés.

La mise au point d’une plateforme volante (dédiée à la recherche en Facteurs Humains et IHM aéronautiques) permettra de raccourcir les temps d’exploration et validation de concepts avancés dans ce domaine.

Dans ce domaine du cockpit, une attention particulière est donnée à la problématique de la formation. Ces travaux poursuivront les projets en cours comme l’étude de l’apprentissage de procédures avec un dispositif multimédia, l’étude oculométrique des circuits visuels et leur utilisation en formation ou l’étude de l’évaluation de la charge cognitive par mesures physiologiques (EEG et diamètre pupillaire).

Plate-forme ACHIL - Aeronautical Computer Human Interaction Lab

Un laboratoire dédié (ACHIL) sert de plate-forme pour ces activités. Cette plate-forme dédiée aux IHM sera mise en place, partagée avec des laboratoires partenaires ou des industriels, afin d’explorer de nouveaux concepts et prototypes aéronautiques et d’analyser les méthodes de travail et leurs évolutions.

La plateforme ACHIL a pour objet l’analyse et la conception des systèmes opérationnels (logiciels, organisations) sur lesquels interviennent des opérateurs humains (pilotes, contrôleurs, etc).

Le domaine d’application de la plateforme ACHIL est l’Aéronautique, tant au sol qu’à bord. Ainsi, en parfaite adéquation avec les missions et la stratégie de l’ENAC, nos questions et problématiques de recherche sont issues des besoins exprimés par le secteur aéronautique (institutions, programmes, industriels). Les travaux sur cette plateforme ont vocation à transposer sur les domaines appliqués du pilotage ou du contrôle aérien des connaissances issues des travaux des équipes de recherche de l’ENAC. Elles visent notamment à supporter les problématiques métiers des différents opérateurs aéronautiques, les aspects facteurs humains et formation, ainsi que la conception d’IHM et d’outils numériques pour les futurs systèmes ATC et avioniques.

Par ailleurs, la plateforme est un lieu d’intégration de compétences transverses, issues par exemple de l’algorithmie, de la mesure de la complexité, des télécommunications ou de l’économie. L’objectif est de constituer un lieu d’intégration et d’innovation qui puisse tirer parti des connaissances et des technologies d’horizons divers.

Enfin, un volet de réalisation de prototypes destinés à supporter la formation des populations aéronautiques est également un axe de développements. Leur objectif est multiple : comprendre les mécanismes d'apprentissage et les circonstances qu maximisent leur efficacité, pour ensuite en décliner des concepts dans les outils même destinés à la formation des pilotes et contrôleurs.

Simulations et conception centrée utilisateur seront largement utilisées. Environnement réaliste : les outils de simulation utilisés doivent permettre la construction d’un environnement très réaliste pour les experts opérationnels (AMAN, TCAS, filets de sécurité, modèles d’aéronef, etc.).

Consulter le site IHM Aéronautique de l'ENAC ///

Le Master IHM

L'Equipe de recherche Ingénierie des Systèmes Interactifs Critiques de l'ENAC propose, en partenariat avec l'Université Toulouse III Paul Sabatier, un Master IHM, accessible dès bac+3.

Retrouvez toutes les informations sur ce Master ici ///

ENAC TV

ENAC training presentation

Galerie Photos

loader

Suivez-nous

Back to top